Adverts: 0161 709 4576 - Editorial: 0161 709 4571
Mail Order: 0161 709 4578 - Subs: 0161 709 4575 - Webteam: 0161 709 4567
Whippet of the Year and
Whippet Puppy of the Year

Photo by Molly McConkey
Puppy of the Year, Bluestreak Belle of the Ball (right) with Cathie Brown
Whippet of the year, Pipijay Drops of Jupiter is on the left with Mr.Goddard

The contests were held on Sunday 8th February 2004 at The Speedwell Rooms, Staveley near Chesterfield, when there were 27 contestants in the Adult competition and 17 in the puppy competition, writes margaret Dixon.

TThe Whippet Breed Council donated an engraved medal for each exhibit, engraved crystal for the winner and runner-up in each section, and all exhibits received food products most generously sponsored by PURINA Pro-Plan.


Entry was by invitation only to winners of CCs and BPIB at championship shows in the qualifying period ending 31st December 2003 .

The three judges, chosen by secret ballot, and whose identity was a secret until the event, were: Mrs Dolly Bradshaw and Mrs Rachel Flatt (breed specialists) and Miss Jean Lanning (all-rounder). Breed Council Chairman, Mrs Shirley Rawlings, was M.C.

There was a change in format this year, and instead of the usual match knockout, a points system was used – similar to that used in one of the all-breed national stakes finals. Scores were kept secret so that no one had any idea of the results until they were actually announced at the end of each contest.

Prior to each contest, the entrants paraded, and at the start of the afternoon session, Mrs Pamela Marston-Pollock paraded her well known multi-Champion bitch, Ch Bescott Standard Lady of Falconcrag. She was the 2002 Whippet of the Year and although qualified for the 2003 contest, she did not take part as she was retired from competition some months ago.

It was lovely to see her looking so well and in such super form. I am sure that many exhibitors breathed a sigh of relief when they realised that she was not actually competing!!

This year’s winners were: Whippet of the Year: Mrs J S Goddard’s Pipijay Drops of Jupiter. Runner up: Miss E Newton’s Ch Nevedith Eefa Empress.

Whippet Puppy of the Year: Msds C Brown & I Straughan’s Bluestreak Belle of the Ball. Runner up: Mrs V Coulter and Mrs C Graham’s Collooney Silver Missouri.