Adverts: 0161 709 4576 - Editorial: 0161 709 4571
Mail Order: 0161 709 4578 - Subs: 0161 709 4575 - Webteam: 0161 709 4567

Miss Churchill makes history at AGM

At the AGM of the Ladies Kennel Association on June 4, the members elected Miss Sybil Churchill an honorary life member in recognition of all her achievements during her 30-year term as secretary. Miss Churchill accepted with the extra pleasure of knowing that she was the first person to hold the honour in the association`s history.

Miss ChurchillDuring lunch a presentation was made to Warwick Winston who has retired as assistant chief steward. Warwick has faithfully helped the LKA during the days before the show for many years and will be much missed. The picture shows Miss Churchill and Warwick together with the president Mrs Peggy Grayson.

Owing to ill health Miss Pam Poulter has resigned from the committee so all the ladies up for re-election retain their seats. There are also no changes in the officials so Mrs Lesley Jupp remains as secretary, Mrs Barbara Roderick as treasurer and Mrs Anne Bliss as vice-chairman.

In her chairman`s report Ferelith Somerfield paid tribute to Mrs Jupp and Mrs Roderick who, with the help of the committee, had turned a loss of £14,000 at the 2006 championship show into a profit of over £3,000 a year later. Mrs Roderick gave a detailed report on the financial affairs of the association.

It was also announced that this year there will be a special events ring at the show on December 12 and 13 and that 11 breeds will be classified without CCs - Australian Terriers, Dandie Dinmonts, Gordon Setters, Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retrievers, Kooikerhondje, Hamiltonstovare, Portuguese Podengo, Dogue de Bordeaux, King Charles Spaniels, Finnish Lapphunds and Estrelas. After a lapse of several years, Whippets will once again have CCs on offer.