Adverts: 0161 709 4576 - Editorial: 0161 709 4571
Mail Order: 0161 709 4578 - Subs: 0161 709 4575 - Webteam: 0161 709 4567

ABS Accolades of Excellence announced

The Kennel Club has announced the first ABS members to receive Accolades of Excellence for setting exemplary standards in dog breeding.

The members were selected for their extensive breeding experience and for their commitment to dog health and welfare. Future nominations are expected to come from breed clubs, which are invited to submit the names of candidates in writing to the Kennel Club.

Speaking about the nominations, Bill Lambert, Health and Breeder Services Manager, said: ‘The Accolade of Excellence is a new award that really sets the standard that we would like other breeders to follow.

‘Kennel Club Accredited Breeders all agree to put the health and welfare of their dogs first and foremost but those who have been given this accolade stand out in particular for their outstanding contribution to the dog world. We are very proud to have these great breeders as members of the Accredited Breeder Scheme and they are fully deserving of the accolade.’

The Accolade of Excellence is normally awarded to Kennel Club Accredited Breeders who already qualify for the three existing accolades. All will also have had a successful visit from an Accredited Breeder Advisor and have bred five or more British champions (any discipline). Those who received the Accolade of Excellence are made honorary members of the Kennel Club Accredited Breeder Scheme for five years.

Future nominations for the Accolade of Excellence will normally come from breed clubs, which are invited to submit the names of candidates in writing to the Kennel Club. Breed club secretaries requiring a current list of Accredited Breeders in their breed should email or write to Accredited Breeder Scheme, The Kennel Club, 1 – 5 Clarges Street, Piccadilly, London W1J 8AB.

The Accredited Breeders who have received the first Accolades of Excellence are: Mesdames SC Bliss & C Bridport (Charney); Mrs D A Britten (Krisma); Mr M & Mrs N Calvert (Calvdale); Mr D & Mrs CA Coode (Warringah); Mrs L A Crawley (Ragus); Mrs J M Dennis (Mariglen); Mr S A & Mrs P Hollings (Gunalt); Mesdames O K Jackson & M Swash (Jokyl); Mrs Y C Miller (Walkon); Mrs D Mottram (Mybeards); Mrs J Sharp-Bale (Neradmik) and Mrs C S Thompson-Morgan (Belleville).

Send your opinion of this story below