Adverts: 0161 709 4576 - Editorial: 0161 709 4571
Mail Order: 0161 709 4578 - Subs: 0161 709 4575 - Webteam: 0161 709 4567

Get ready for the Fidos!

Bounding into their third year, the Fido Awards, presented for canine cinematic excellence, are this year teaming up with Dogs Trust, the UK’s largest dog welfare charity. The event honours dog performances on the silver screen and will take place on Sunday 22 November 2009 at BFI Southbank in London.

Nominations for the Fido Awards were announced this week, for outstanding canine performances in the following categories:

Historical Hound – for period drama excellence: The Young Victoria, Dean Spanley W, Taking Woodstock.

Rom-Com Rover – for romantic-comedy companionship: The Proposal, Marley and Me, My Best Friend’s Girlfriend and I Love You Man.

Comedy Canine – for outstanding comedic contribution: Fantastic Mr. Fox, Beverly Hills Chihuahua, Hotel for Dogs and Bolt.

Blockbuster Bowser – for event-movie performance of the year: Gran Torino, Inglourious Basterds, Coraline and Up.

Mutt Moment – for a single stand-out cinematic canine moment: Wendy and Lucy, ish Tank, Let the Right One In and Sleep Furiously.

Dogs Trust has its very own category - Dogs Trust Star of Tomorrow where proud owners can nominate their canine chums to attend the exclusive awards and become cover star of the charity’s magazine, Wag!

The Fido Awards are produced by Toby Rose who also organises the prestigious Palm Dog Award at the Cannes Film Festival, which in 2010 will celebrate ten years of standout dog performances at the festival. He explained, “This year has seen an unprecedented run of dog successes at the international box office, from huge Hollywood blockbusters to cutting edge independent films. It is fitting that in such a dog-centric year on the big screen that the Fido Awards will be presented in association with leading dog charity Dogs Trust.”

The judging panel this year is made up of leading film critics and writers, including: Derek Malcolm, EVENING STANDARD; Angie Errigo, EMPIRE; James Christopher, THE TIMES; Kaleem Aftab, THE INDEPENDENT and Charles Gant, HEAT.

Send your opinion of this story below